HYSTERIA!

A darkly comic political cabaret for our times by theatre-maker Julia Taudevin, partly inspired by the 2016 US election and the 2017 global women’s marches, and written in dialogue with over 100 people.

A Play, A Pie and A Pint at Oran Mor, in association with Traverse Theatre and Scottish Mental Health Arts Festival, presents

HYSTERIA!

by AJ Taudevin

World premiere

Someone. Somewhere near here.

Near or maybe not that near. But never that far away.

Straightens their bunny ears and refuses to smile.

Presses Retweet.

Joins a sea of pussy hats.

Gets through another day.

In April this year, theatre-maker Julia Taudevin (Blow Off, Some Other Mother, Chalk Farm) and Dr Iris Elliott, head of policy and research for the Mental Health Foundation, began exploring the impact of sexism on mental health.

Hysteria! is a darkly comic political cabaret for our times, partly inspired by the 2016 US election and the 2017 global women’s marches, and written in dialogue with over 100 people.

Oran Mor, Glasgow Mon 9–Sat 14 Oct

Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh Tue 17–Sat 21 Oct

Supported by Creative Scotland and the Scottish Mental Health Arts Festival

 

Praise for Blow Off

‘A dynamite hour of sexual politics.’ The Guardian

‘An important and necessary piece of theatre.’ Exeunt

‘As clear and sharp as shattered glass.’ The Stage

 

Sexism & Mental Health: Drop-in Workshop for Women

Julia Taudevin and Dr Iris Elliott will also host a drop-in workshop on Sexism and Mental Health in Perth as part of the Women of the World (WOW) festival. Click here for more information and booking. 

Perth Concert Hall | Sat 28 Oct, 2–4.30pm

Tue 17th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Wed 18th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Thu 19th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Fri 20th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Fri 20th Oct
7PM - 8PM
Sat 21st Oct
1PM - 2PM

Venue

Traverse Theatre
10 Cambridge Street, Edinburgh EH1 2ED
Mon 9th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Tue 10th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Wed 11th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Thu 12th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Fri 13th Oct
1PM - 2PM
Sat 14th Oct
1PM - 2PM

Venue

Òran Mór
Byres Road, Glasgow G12 8QX
Booking Info:

 

Òran Mór

£10–£14 | 08444 771 000, playpiepint.com

 

Traverse Theatre

£13.50 | 0131 228 1404, traverse.co.uk