Writing Awards 2016 Time Page 01

Writing Awards 2016

The theme for SMHAF 2016 was Time. Read the shortlisted entries from our writing competition, collected in this ebook illustrated by Josie Vallely.

These pieces, all exploring mental health and the theme of Time, were chosen from over 130 entries to the competition by a jury featuring poet and performer Jenny Lindsay, playwright and novelist Alan Bissett, and representatives from the Mental Health Foundation and Bipolar Scotland.

The ceremony was held at the Scottish Storytelling Centre and hosted by Jenny Lindsay, with a special performance by Neil Pennycook of Meursault. 

Time eBook

Click here or on the image below to read the eBook as a PDF. 

Winning Entries

1st: Taking Care of Jane by Angela Wright

2nd: Dear Uncle by Celia D. Donovan

3rd: Happy Meal by Erin Crombie

Highly Commended: Dear Doctor by Angela McCrimmon

Shortlisted Entries

Weans by Brian Reid

Time Machine by Helen MacKinven

Just Till Ten by Kate Chapman

Time for the Belt Buckle by Shirley Muir

Jelly Trifle by Susan Robinson

Exhaustion by Lauren Jones